Catalyst Mobility and the Smart Freight Centre announced on 22 September that a shipper alliance has placed an order for 2,500 battery-electric Class 8 trucks, the largest in US history. The release names Tesla primary OEM "for the initial 2,500 trucks" and, in the next sentence, names Kenworth, RIDE and Volvo as secondary OEMs. It never says how many of the 2,500 are Semis, and neither does anyone else.
Four hours later Tesla's own account did.
The release counts 2,500 trucks across four makers and quantifies none
Dan Priestley, who runs the Semi programme, is quoted inside the release and puts no number on Tesla's share: "We are proud to have been the primary selection in this RFP." The card above sets the wordings side by side.
Two words moved between source and restatement. "Trucks" became "Semis" — the release's 2,500 covers four manufacturers, and carriers choose among them. And "nearly doubles" became "will double", though the release says "nearly" twice, headline included.
The first change is the one worth money. "Primary" is doing real work here — the release casts the other three as options carriers "can utilize" for particular operations, a default-and-exceptions structure under which most of the 2,500 plausibly are Semis. But plausibly is the whole distance. At the $180,000 a truck our model uses, 2,500 Semis is $450 million of revenue and a quarter of them $112.5 million — that spread is what nobody has published. EVwire set the right standard: "No split has been published anywhere, so treat any Tesla-specific count you see today as somebody's guess."
The purchase order belongs to a leasing company, not to the shippers
The release is specific about who buys. ZET Financial — a lessor and a partner to the alliance rather than a member — "is issuing the purchase order for the initial 2,500 trucks" and will deploy them on a fair-market-value lease that carries the residual risk.
Roles exactly as stated in the alliance's own documents
| Party | Role as stated | Units |
|---|---|---|
| Tesla | Primary OEM | Not disclosed |
| Kenworth, RIDE, Volvo | Secondary OEMs | Not disclosed |
| ZET Financial | Issues the purchase order | 2,500 |
| Carriers | Lease the trucks | Not disclosed |
| Microsoft, PepsiCo | Founding shippers | None |
From the 22 September release and the ZET SCALE programme page. Kenworth is PACCAR's brand, RIDE is ride.co and Volvo Trucks is Volvo Group; none is tracked here. The programme page names Brambles/CHEP, IKEA, Microsoft and Red Bull among more than 15 engaged shippers, and states that participation does not imply a procurement obligation. No document assigns units to any manufacturer.
Microsoft and PepsiCo are named founding shippers, and the programme page is blunt about it: participation "does not imply a procurement obligation." Microsoft's own quoted role is "signaling real demand for electric trucks." A shipper signalling demand is not a fleet buying trucks, and the alliance does not say it is.
The two documents disagree on status too: the release says ZET Financial "is issuing" the order; the programme page, out eleven minutes later, says the 2,500 are "now under contract."
"Nearly doubles" rests on a number its own census never prints
The release hangs the fleet-doubling claim on Catalyst's zero-emission truck census. The June 2026 edition states cumulative US deployments of 72,309 vehicles through December 2025 across six segments, and never gives the heavy-duty truck stock as a figure — that segment is an unlabelled band inside a stacked bar chart, with the grand total the only number on the page.
The one attributable count of the installed base comes from outside the alliance: at the ACT Expo on 8 May, TRC president Erik Neandross put 2,829 Class 7 and 8 battery-electric trucks in registration across the US and Canada. (2,829 + 2,500) ÷ 2,829 = 1.88x, an 88% increase. Tesla's "will double" needs a base narrower than any published count, and the alliance's own "nearly" is the better word.
Our 18 August headline is now wrong, and our order book still cannot be added up
On 18 August we published "Tesla's Largest Semi Order Is 500 Trucks. Nevada Could Build That in Four Days", and closed it with a watch item: "A second order at Einride's scale. One 500-truck deal is validation; two make it a book." That fired at five times the scale, four weeks later. The headline was true when it ran and is not true now.
The book in that piece — roughly 1,515 announced units — cannot simply take 2,500 on top. An Einride director's comment raised the possibility that Einride's 500 sits inside this 2,500, and EVwire, which reported it, called the reading its own speculation. Until someone states the overlap, adding the two gives a number nobody can defend.
2,500 trucks is 81% of a single modelled ramp year
Against the factory rather than the fleet, the order is smaller than it sounds. Nevada's Semi line is designed for 50,000 trucks a year. 2,500 ÷ 50,000 = 5.0% of a design-rate year, or 2,500 ÷ 137 a day = 18.25 days of output. Our Semi model runs 500 units in the basis quarter compounding at 30% a quarter: 500 + 650 + 845 + 1,098.5 = 3,093.5 units in the first four, and 2,500 ÷ 3,093.5 = 81% of one ramp year it already projects.
So the order changes no driver in it. It prints no Tesla unit count, no delivery year and no price, and Tesla has filed nothing. For scale on the other side: deleting the entire Semi vertical is worth $10.49 on a published base of $272.39 — 3.85%. A single order at 81% of one ramp year confirms that ramp; it does not re-rate anything.
A unit split would settle it — from Tesla, the alliance or ZET Financial. Tesla's invite-only Semi Rollout in Sparks, Nevada is two days out.
The 2,500-truck order, the OEM designations, Dan Priestley's quote, ZET Financial's purchase order and lease structure, the founding-shipper language and Nico De Golia's quote are from the Catalyst Mobility and Smart Freight Centre release of 22 September; the "under contract" wording, the procurement-obligation line and the named shipper list are from the ZET SCALE programme page of the same morning. The 72,309 cumulative deployments, and the absence of any heavy-duty figure, are from Catalyst's June 2026 market update. Erik Neandross's 2,829 registrations were reported by Transport Topics on 8 May. Tesla's wording is its own account's, quoted as published; the no-split standard and the Einride overlap are EVwire's. The unit-ramp, per-share and percentage figures are ours.